top of page

Advocacies of a Virtual Assistant / Freelancer Mommy


Virtual Assistant Freelancer Mommy working at home

Are you a mom-to-be soon? What are your plans when your baby pops out? Have you ever wondered what are the things you need to know about mothering? How to feed your child, how to carry him the first time, how to change diaper, etc. - These were only few questions that pops into a preggy mom’s mind as she began to take the road into motherhood.


Let me share to you some things I have discovered while I had my second baby on board and until he came into this world.


When I had my first child, I really don’t have much idea about all these things of motherhood (or nothing at all as other moms used to say it the first time, of course). I do it my own way with the tips or advises from fellow mothers.


Big thanks to Facebook, everything was revolutionized when I got pregnant the second time around (after 6 years with my first born) and bumped into a group whose advocacy was nothing but the best for babies.


Virtual Support Groups for First Time Moms


1. Breastfeeding. I bumped into a Facebook group called Breastfeeding Pinays and found myself very interested about it so I had a series of reading and learning through the group’s files. I myself is a self-learner so I just kept on reading a lot about breastfeeding. I found it very informative and a dedicated and supportive group. How I wish I had the chance to learn about it before second baby came out. I admit I wasn’t able to push through it for so long for some reasons and somehow regret it since I really wished to breastfeed my baby until two years.

However, it doesn’t stop right there. My hopes for myself came to be a hope for other mommy-to-be’s. Whenever I knew a friend is preggy, I then advised her to join the group and be informed while still preggy. Somehow, it kept me feel good by just sharing to her about the support group to help her be a breastfeeding advocate. After all, breast milk is still best for babies.


2. Cloth Diapering. The nastiest job of being a mother for some. But a refusal to changing diaper would be the least thing to put on your to-do-list when you see those chic and fashionable cloth diapers on your baby’s cutie bum!

The first group I have bumped into when I was still preggy with baby number two was this Facebook group called Modern Cloth Nappying Pinays, followed by Cloth Diaper Addicts PH. I came into these group when I was still searching for ways how to save a lot from diaper costs. Voila! I have discovered the modern diaper called nowadays as ‘cloth diaper’. Though I have learned a lot through online research in seeking the whereabouts of cloth diapering, these groups cater a lot of information as well all that you need to know about cloth diapering. It is also a group where fellow mommies share tips, raise concerns and help other mommies with their problems encountered during their cloth diapering journey. One thing for sure, cloth diapering helped me reached my goal, SAVE a lot from diaper costs and help Mother Earth.


3. Babywearing. The last group I have discovered during my pregnancy was this Facebook group called Babywearing Philippines. It is a group of mommies and daddies with the advocacy of wearing their babies through the use of variety of baby carriers, ring sling, a wrap, soft structured carrier, pouch and other advisable baby carriers. Babywearing gives the parent an ease of their daily activities because it helps them do multitasking while babywearing. But what I love most about this advocacy is that it creates a great bond or connection between the parent and the baby because the baby is always close to you, thus, promoting attachment parenting. Want to know more about the babywearing? You can join the FB group Babywearing Pinay to know more but don’t forget to read the pinned post as admins of the group require you to register or fill-up a form first before you are accepted in the group.


variety of baby carriers parents can choose

These are just one of those things that motherhood can offer. So heads up mommies-to-be, Facebook groups like Breastfeeding Pinay, Modern Cloth Nappying Pinay, Cloth Diaper Addicts PH and Babywearing Philippines are amazing support groups that you can join with and learn motherhood tips, meet new mommy peers virtually and make your motherhood journey so much fun and enjoyable.


Warning:


For stay at home mommies, take control of yourself, you might get a bit of addiction over those stuff especially with cloth diapers. Believe me, I've been there and it can really get you hooked and crazy over it.



Becoming a Virtual Assistant / Freelancer


By the way, why did I share these FB groups to you? Why bother?


This is where I have come to know about the opportunities of online freelancing. I met

virtual assistant mommies who came to be freelancers and share their success stories and tips on how to earn while being a stay at home mom. See? I got something from making time with Facebook browsing. And now, I am taking a new career move apart from being a crafty mom who learned things with the help of Mr. Google and YouTube university.

Online freelancing helps you to earn at the comfort of your own home. You get to work and use your skills online with the help of different freelancing platforms. In other words, you become a remote employee who earns, mostly, in dollars, but is not necessarily committed to an employer long-term.

If you want to become a freelancer or a virtual assistant, yet, you do have a zero idea on this field, there are free tutorials online that you can go to and learn the whereabouts of online freelancing. However, if you wanted to have a more personalized tutorial, you can hire a coach who will address to your questions further and guide you in your journey into becoming a virtual assistant so you start your journey as a freelancer.


If you have any thing to ask about me, may it be regarding these advocacies or virtual assistant thing, please do contact me and I am very much willing to help you in the best way I can.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page